Michael S. Johnson Explorer of the Year

The RMAG Foundation, in cooperation with the Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists, provides the Michael S. Johnson Explorer of the Year award, recognizing the earth scientist who has made a significant energy or mineral discovery, or with outstanding accomplishments in resource exploration. Candidates for the award must be members of the RMAG. Two individuals may be recognized in a calendar year.

The Michael S. Johnson Explorer of the Year award was established anonymously in 2014 by two geologists in the Denver geologic community to honor Michael S. Johnson, a highly regarded and successful petroleum geologist. The award, an engraved plaque, is given each year to a recipient who is selected by the RMAG Awards committee.

Nominate a Candidate for Explorer of the Year

Submit nominations via email to staff@rmag.org. Applications are forwarded to the RMAG Awards Committee. Nominations are due by December 15, 2022.

Recent Explorer of the Year Honorees

2021 Susan Morrice

2019 David Schmude

2019 Brian Berwick

2018 Jesse V. Sommer

2018 William F. Armstrong

2017 Christopher B. Martin

2016 Steven C. Kirkwood

2014 Terry Mather (Outstanding Explorer award)