The RMAG Foundation supports earth science research and academic studies for graduate and selected undergraduate students by providing 15 students with scholarship awards in 2024. Many of the awards have specific qualifications which must be documented by student applicants and are described separately for each scholarship. Some of the scholarships are available not only to geology and geophysics students but to other earth science-related sub-disciplines including, but not limited to: geochemistry, hydrology, atmospheric and/or climate sciences, volcanology, mining-related studies, planetary sciences, surface processes, and glaciology. Applications will only be accepted from students at U.S.-based institutions.

Apply for 2024 Scholarships

The application for scholarships will open on November 6, 2023, and close on Monday, January 15, 2024. Please submit only one application that clearly describes your research.  The RMAG Foundation Trustees will add that one application to all the scholarships for which it qualifies.  Please note that faculty recommendations can be emailed separately to

Competitive Scholarships

Click on a box to learn more.

Faculty Nominated Scholarships

Click on a box to learn more.