Awards and Grants

The Foundation provides awards that recognize individual accomplishments in the Earth Sciences:

Neal J. Harr Memorial Award

The Neal J. Harr Memorial Award, known as the “Pick Award,” is given to outstanding geology seniors at 10 colleges and universities in Colorado. The winners are awarded engraved rock hammers and a complimentary one-year membership to RMAG.

Click Here for more Info

K-12 Earth Science Teacher of the Year

The RMAG Foundation, jointly with RMAG, annually awards a K-12 Earth Science Teacher of the Year to a Colorado K-12 teacher who promotes excellence in teaching Earth Science. The award consists of a commemorative plaque and cash awards to the teacher and the teacher’s school.

Click Here for more Info

Publication Charge Grants

The grants are intended to offset costs for publication, including page charges, color charges and/or open access charges for articles relevant to Rocky Mountain geoscience. Preferred publications include those of non-profit organizations.

Click Here for more Info

Michael S. Johnson Explorer of the Year

The Explorer of the Year Award is given jointly by the RMAG and RMAG Foundation to recognize an earth scientist who has made a significant energy or mineral discovery, or outstanding accomplishments in resource exploration.

Click Here for more Info