Neil J. Harr Memorial Award

The Neal J. Harr Memorial Award, commonly known as the “Pick Award,” is tribute to the memory of Neal J. Harr. Neal was highly respected in the oil and gas industry. He served as the President of RMAG and his presidency was cut short by lung cancer at age 48 in 1979.

The “Pick Award” is given to outstanding geology seniors at colleges and universities in Colorado. Awardees are nominated by faculty at their school. The winners are given engraved rock hammers and a complimentary one-year membership to RMAG. The RMAG membership allows these outstanding seniors to benefit from activities of the association and its members, as well as educational and social benefits.

2021 Winners of the Neal J. Harr Memorial Award

Shahad Aldhamin, Colorado School of Mines

Sydney A. Clayton, University of Northern Colorado

Mingxi Hu, Colorado College

Jacob King, Colorado State University

Jarad Lavelle, Colorado Mesa University

Isabel Rodriguez, Adams State University

Diego Ray Schutz, Fort Lewis College:

Destany Vargas, Western Colorado University