Scholarships and Applications

Norman H. Foster Memorial Scholarship


One Scholarship for $3,500

In 2020, one Norman H. Foster Memorial Scholarship, for $3,500, will be awarded by the Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists Foundation to encourage and support creative research in applied petroleum geology by a current graduate student. A recipient shall have demonstrated the ability and intent to utilize various exploration techniques to locate structural or stratigraphic habitats for oil and gas. The application of innovative techniques or methods for exploration and/or field development, including fieldwork as an adjunct to subsurface interpretation, will be given special consideration.

Norman Foster was one of RMAG’s most prestigious members. He was a leader in the Denver community, an outstanding and successful explorer, and for more than 40 years, a highly respected member of both RMAG and AAPG. He gave freely of his time to both organizations, served in many capacities, including president of both RMAG and AAPG, and received the highest honors each association could bestow upon him.

Norm’s friends established a memorial fund in 2000 to provide financial help to student geologists working in the Rocky Mountains. Many persons have contributed generously to the fund, including Norm’s family. In December, 2000, Norm’s long-time friends, Nancy and Don Todd, matched all contributions made to that time.

The following criteria will be used by the RMAG Foundation to select a recipient for the scholarship:

  • Relevance of the student’s research to Rocky Mountain geology and application to petroleum occurrence and exploration.
  • Academic achievements
  • Economic need
  • Faculty references or contacts

Applications for the RMAG Foundation Graduate Student Award must be submitted electronically and must include:

  • A thesis proposal (two pages or less) with financial support and needs listed to complete the research
  • A resume with GPA and GRE information
  • A schedule for completing stages in and completion of the research
  • Recommendation letter from the appropriate faculty advisor

A review panel will evaluate proposals submitted, and Trustees of the Foundation will make the final selection.

Application deadline is January 10, 2020

The recipient of the award, with one other person selected by the recipient, will be guests of the Foundation at a monthly meeting of the Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists in April 2020. A short presentation will be made to the recipient during the meeting. The RMAG Foundation is unable to pay for transportation of accommodation costs for awardees to attend the luncheon.

Application is closed. Thank you to all who applied.