The RMAG Foundation Pick Award is a tribute to the memory of Neal J. Harr who, in addition to being one of the most respected men in the oil and gas industry, served as the President of RMAG.  Neal’s presidency was cut short by his death in 1979 from lung cancer at the age of 48.  This award recognizes the outstanding senior class geology student from all ten Colorado colleges and universities.   This year, we received nominations from eight schools as shown below.

These students will receive an engraved rock hammer commemorating their award.  In addition, the Foundation will pay for a one-year membership to RMAG that will allow an opportunity for them to engage with the organization, its members, and its various educational and social benefits.

Excellence in Teaching Earth Science (Teacher of the Year Award)

In 2000, the Rocky Mountain Association of Geologists (RMAG) Foundation instituted an award to honor an elementary or secondary school teacher who has promoted teaching of Earth Science to K- 12 students. The winner receives a commemorative plaque and a $1000 cash award provided by the RMAG Foundation. The RMAG Foundation also awards the winner’s school with $1000 designated for its Earth Science program.

Congratulations to this year’s 2020 Award Recipients

Hannah Runyon Colorado College
Nicole Mejia-Mendoza Colorado Mesa University
Robert Johanson Colorado School of Mines
Cody Delgado Colorado State University
Hanna Janssen Fort Lewis College

Elizabeth Schaeffer Metro State University
Blake Brazell University of Northern Colorado
Brock Arveson Western College University

2019 Award Recipients

Ashley How Adams State College
Benjamin Lloyd Colorado College
Tatjana Scherschel Colorado School of Mines
William Gnesda Colorado State University
Connor Broaddus Ft. Lewis College

Tristan Bates Colorado Mesa University
Carlton Mueller Univ. of Colorado, Boulder
Kate M. Nelson Univ. of Northern Colorado
Gordon Gianniny Western State University
Celine “Bean” Gill Metro State University

2018 Explorer of the Year Award

The RMAG Foundation is pleased to honor as the 2018 Explorers of the Year:

  • William Armstrong, Armstrong Oil and Gas
  • Jesse Sommer, Armstrong Oil and Gas